You are here

German Unity Cycle Route

The German Unity Cycle Route is a symbol for the reunification and integration of our infrastructure. It passes through seven federal states - from Bonn, the former capital of Germany, through North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Hesse, Lower Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Brandenburg up to Berlin. On this route of approximately 1,100 kilometres, it will be possible to directly experience the unique success story of Germany’s reunification at around 100 historical places - and at the same time, the latest innovations will provide a look into the future.

Already today, the bicycle is at the forefront in the area of electric drivetrains and is becoming even more attractive through digitalization. With the multimedia dashboard, digital route planning, navigation apps and the linking up of mobility and spatial data, the bicycle as a smart bike will become a leading innovator for Mobility 4.0. And the German Unity Cycle Route taps into this trend: Along the entire route, sophisticated service points with free Wi-Fi access, digital touchpads, charging facilities and solar cell technology will be installed. Here, cyclists can recharge their electric bike, obtain information on the region, discover small and big milestones of the reunification process, plan their route or simply make a reservation at the next bed and breakfast. The German Unity Cycle Route will thus be a real highlight for tourists and bicycle enthusiasts - and will further boost the trend towards cycling.

The history

When the border between East and West Germany was reopened in 1989, this was the end of a long period during which not only relationships between people had been disconnected, but also roads, railway lines and waterways. One of the numerous tasks which German policymakers were faced with at the time was to re-establish the transport infrastructure between East and West Germany which had been disconnected for 40 years.  In the following 25 years, the transport infrastructure in Germany has improved considerably. The “German Unity Transport Projects” became a major driving force in helping the two Germanys to grow together. Nine railway projects, seven motorway projects and one waterway project were launched and have been funded with almost 35 billion euros up to date.

In the anniversary year “25 years of German Unity”, the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure initiated a new transport project: the German Unity Cycle Route, which is to lead from Bonn, Germany’s former capital, to Berlin, the present seat of the Federal Government. The German Unity Cycle Route will not only symbolically join East and West but also offer a look into the future of cycling.

The digital components

The German Unity Cycle Route offers cyclists three modern digital modules for information and interaction: website, touchscreens and app. Public Wi-Fi hotspots provide free internet access in the vicinity of the service points along the cycle route. Furthermore, the service points will not only offer internet access for mobile terminal equipment but also possibilities to recharge.

The route

The German Unity Cycle Route passes through seven federal states: North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Hesse, Lower Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Brandenburg and Berlin. It leads past many tourist attractions and cultural highlights and thus also presents a cross-section through the history of the reunified Germany. In total, the German Unity Cycle Route will be split into five legs, that is 20 route sections of different lengths and levels of difficulty.

The service points

Along the German Unity Cycle Route, there will be service points at regular intervals which will be landmarks to provide cyclists with orientation and offer services and information. There will be different modular variants of the service points which will always be kept digitally up to date.